Songs of Mississippi John Hurt

[Songs of Mississippi John Hurt]

Bill's new album features his versions of 15 songs by Mississippi John Hurt.

It was recorded in New Orleans in August of 1998. Musicians include Johnny Vidacovich on drums and James Singleton on acoustic bass. Peter Keane helps with the arranging and adds some guitar and backing vocals, and Cormac McCarthy plays harmonica on several numbers.

See Rounder's page on the album for more information.

Listen to "If You Don't Want Me" in mp3 format (112Kbps, 2811 KB)

The Songs
  1. If You Don't Want Me
  2. Avalon Blues
  3. Shake That Thing
  4. Louis Collins
  5. First Shot Missed Him
  6. Big Leg Blues
  7. Hey, Honey, Right Away
  8. Joe Turner Blues
  9. I'm Satisfied
  10. Beulah Land
  11. Funky Butt
  12. Coffee Blues
  13. Monday Morning Blues
  14. Good Morning, Carrie
  15. Hot Times in the Old Town